Weekly Photo Challenge: Escape

photo (1)

Because memories are all I have.

Memories as a form of escape from the present.

Memories, I’ve found out, are two-edged swords. Memories are fragile, yet powerful – powerful enough to either make or break you (the choice always presents itself). Call me sentimental, but I greatly hold on to the memories I have especially the ones I know I could tell to my future kids/grandkids.

Above all, I treasure the memories I’ve made during my travels. Here are some of the fridge magnets and other trinkets I’ve collected since 2012 – some from my adventures and some generously given to me by my close friends. Noteworthy ones include:

  1. Guatemalan worry dolls (bottom left) – You’re supposed your share your worries to these dolls, place them beneath your pillow before you sleep, and they will take your worries away.
  2. Mercedes-Benz 190SL (center, top) – From the fascinating Mercedes-Benz Museum in Stuttgart.
  3. Innsbruck (below Edinburgh Castle) – What I believe is the most magical old town there is.
  4. Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum (top right) – The geek in me was happy. Amelia Earhart’s bright red Lockheed 5B Vega is on display (it’s the same plane she used to fly nonstop across Atlantic Ocean).
  5. Boston – I instantly fell in love with Boston! Also, it’s the first road trip I had with friends this year. Funny how we spent St. Patty’s Day in this beautiful city…without drinking beer. I remember having lunch in Chinatown instead (we all agreed that Chinese food in Boston tastes much better than Chinese food in NYC).

P.S. I should buy an NYC fridge magnet soon.

A penny for your thoughts

