Here’s to growing up

IMG_9630
One of the 12,000 tulips on display at the Brooklyn Botanic Garden!

Three things I learned today:

(1) Bates and Anthony won the Amazing Race (I was rooting for the roller derby moms!). Didn’t know that MLK had his “I have a Dream” speech at the Lincoln Memorial. I should seriously study the map more and show more interest in geography (and maybe brush up on American history?);

(2) “Face time” means “time spent at one’s place of employment especially beyond normal working hours” (Merriam-Webster dictionary). Note to self: there’s life outside the workplace; refrain from staying in the office til 8PM, dude!; and,

(3) I FOUND MY FIRST WHITE HAIR.

When I was younger, I had the impression that not having a single white hair yet was something to be proud of. Seeing my first white hair terrified me and it dawned on me that I’m getting old. Questions such as the following flooded my thoughts while I stroke the strand of hair:

(1) Just a few more months before I leave the 18-24 age range. What have I accomplished so far? The clock is ticking, Annie.

(2) Have you been living under your means? Must. Start. Saving.

(3) What are you really passionate about? (Yes, I haven’t figured that out yet.)

Reading Susan Cain’s Quiet helped me zone in and focus on the more important things. I’ve come up with a few “core personal projects” such as speaking my mind out and contributing more insights at work (my office mates had to give me an intervention about being too passive), leveraging my strengths (i.e., I’m more of a thinker than a talker – how do I take advantage of that?), and doing something that I’m afraid of.

Like what they say, growing old is inevitable but growing up is a choice; that growth comes when you are comfortable with being uncomfortable. It is my hope that in the next few days, I’ll be much more comfortable with the art of making conversations (keep in mind Tina Fey’s advice on improv: agree then add something), write that essay I’ve been meaning to work on, submit that volunteer application for MoMath, start investing thru Citisec, and join Toastmasters (aka “Annie’s ultimate challenge”).

Here’s to being open to challenges that’ll make me question my beliefs and take me out of my passive, comfort zone. Who knows, maybe my first white hair would give me good luck?

2 thoughts on “Here’s to growing up

A penny for your thoughts

