Up, up and away!

Flying is definitely one of the best sensations in the world. And the best view, I think, is the sea of unassuming puffy, white clouds against a blue backdrop.

2012 has been really good to me. It’s just October and so far, I’ve been to 12 flights:

  • Dec 31/Jan1: NYC to Beijing; Beijing to Manila
  • Feb: Manila to Singapore; Singapore to Manila
  • Feb: Manila to Tagbilaran City; Tagbilaran City to Manila
  • Feb: Manila to Beijing; Beijing to NYC
  • Apr: NYC to Zurich; Zurich to NYC
  • Aug: NYC to Chicago; Chicago to NYC

Funny that in 10 out of those 12 flights, I was completely on my own. And I really don’t mind traveling alone. In fact, in a weird sort of way (that many people might not completely understand), I actually enjoy it. I appreciate that I get to think things through and evaluate my life and the choices I’ve made.

In my flight from NYC to Beijing, I was seated beside a Chinese tattoo artist who works in Chinatown. He showed me samples of his work and what an artist he really was! Beijing to Manila was unforgettable – I arrived in Manila thirty minutes after New Year, and seeing Manila and its flickering lights, with my family at the airport patiently waiting for me, was such a wonder to behold.

My trip to Singapore was also unforgettable. I remember booking my trip six months in advance, overly excited to visit some good friends I haven’t seen in years. I was supposed to make a detour to Malacca and Kuala Lumpur, but maybe it wasn’t meant to be – my passport was forcibly destroyed and I had to cut my trip short and go home, apply for another passport if I wanted to go back to NYC. The trip to Tagbilaran City and Panglao was really awesome, as I got to be on a vacation with my block mates from college. Oh, I could still feel the fine, white sand in my bare toes and the heat of the sun giving me a glorious tan. On the other hand, the trip to Beijing then to NYC was something that I truly despise. NAIA Terminal 1 clearly is one of the worst airports I’ve been to (Kyiv airport takes the number one spot) – and I hope it gets renovated in the coming years. However, I’m still thankful for the safe and uneventful flight and for being able to try Air China for once.

I’ve always held my flight from NYC to Zurich very close to my heart, just because Switzerland for me is the most beautiful country there is. I recall missing the check-in luggage deadline, that’s why I had to give away the liquids and toiletries I had in my luggage back then. Zurich to NYC was such a sweet sorrow, for I had to say goodbye to Switzerland while I looked forward to my graduation a week after I came back to NYC. Lastly, I went to Chicago last August to attend my roommate’s second (yes, second!) wedding and to meet up with a good friend of mine. It’s really awesome to be friends with a flight attendant! Haha.

I look forward to being at the airport and the plane again, anxious to board my flight and to embark on another adventure. No matter where I am or where I’ll be or who I’ll become, I’ll always be that same girl who took the first step of traveling halfway around the world to study again, to explore what’s out there, to make her dreams a reality.

2 thoughts on “Up, up and away!

A penny for your thoughts

