Step into my shoes

Whiling away the afternoon at the Brooklyn Bridge Park

Momma always says there’s an awful lot you could tell about a person by their shoes. Where they’re going. Where they’ve been. I’ve worn lots of shoes. I bet if I think about it real hard I could remember my first pair of shoes. ~ Forrest Gump

Size 7 1/2, wide. Big feet for someone petite, yea?

This pair was my haul when my aunt took me to my first U.S. outlet store experience when I went to Virginia for a visit. I didn’t know it at the time, but my aunt gave me one of the most wonderful gifts I could ever receive – this $15 pair would actually take me to places I can only dream of!

If you take a closer look, these are not just any other plain black Chucks – they sparkle! I’d like to think that these sparkled canvas shoes were sprinkled with fairy dust, as I was given the power of flight to go places and the opportunity to travel the world. But what makes them really special is that I feel like a kid again whenever I’m in them as I go about wandering from one place to another, with eyes filled with curiosity and admiration.

It’s almost two years since I first got these shoes. I’ve always brought these with me whenever I travel because I feel so much comfortable in them. We’ve been through countless walking tours together as walking is my preferred method of exploring a foreign place.

While my Chucks are a bit worn-out and may be well past its half-life, I am still young and just starting out another phase in my life. But during the years that I got to travel and had been away from home, I’ve grown up and developed a longing to be somewhere else and even a certain fondness of cultures different from my own. The person who once hated commuting and feared riding buses because of her distrust of people has grown accustomed to taking the subway and regional trains and even developed a liking for flying. It’s true that living in New York toughens you up, even gives you enough courage to take on skydiving (another story worthy of a separate blog post).

In the posts that follow, join me as I turn back the hands of time in my attempt to relive my exploits, to experience again what it felt like to see the world’s landmarks with my own eyes. I want to remember why waking up in the morning, not knowing what’s going to happen or where I’m going to wind up, feels like one of the greatest sensations in the world.

As Ellie Fredricksen (my favorite character from a Pixar movie) would say, “Adventure is out there!”

Step into my shoes, won’t you?

3 thoughts on “Step into my shoes

  1. Step into your shoes? Nako, hindi tayo magka-size! Niliteral daw ba haha. Awwww Annie!! Your shoes say a lot about your happy personality. I hope you keep going places with it. 🙂

A penny for your thoughts

