On making criticisms

This picture reminds me of one particular piece that was reprinted in Dale Carnegie’s book, How to Win Friends & Influence People. The photo’s a little blurred since it’s a cropped photo but still sends the message across:

What has habit been doing to me? The habit of finding fault, of reprimanding – this was my reward to you for being a boy. It was not that I did not love you; it was that I expected too much of youth. I was measuring you by the yardstick of my own years.

And there was so much that was good and fine and true in your character. The little heart of you was as big as the dawn itself over the wide hills. This was shown by your spontaneous impulse to rush in and kiss me good night. Nothing else matters tonight, son.

~ excerpt from “Father Forgets”, W. Livingston Larned (full text HERE)

C’est la Vie!

A penny for your thoughts

