Echoes from Long Island Sound

But I would suggest that an ideal human life lies somewhere between my own defiant indolence and the rest of the world’s endless frenetic hustle. My role is just to be a bad influence, the kid standing outside the classroom window making faces at you at your desk, urging you to just this once make some excuse and get out of there, come outside and play. My own resolute idleness has mostly been a luxury rather than a virtue, but I did make a conscious decision, a long time ago, to choose time over money, since I’ve always understood that the best investment of my limited time on earth was to spend it with people I love. I suppose it’s possible I’ll lie on my deathbed regretting that I didn’t work harder and say everything I had to say, but I think what I’ll really wish is that I could have one more beer with Chris, another long talk with Megan, one last good hard laugh with Boyd. Life is too short to be busy.

~ Tim Kreider on “The ‘Busy’ Trap” (Click here for the article)

This summer, I can say, is the first real “carefree” summer I ever had in such a long time, without any exam to prepare for or any classes to take. I could wake up at 10AM and I couldn’t care less, have my breakfast and lunch at the same time while I watch Supernatural, take long naps, and sleep in an ungodly hour. In a way, I missed being a kid and I’m really glad I get to spend time alone, with only my thoughts distracting me. I know people who work seven days a week and this, for them, is a luxury they just cannot afford.

On the best ordinary days, I get to spend the afternoon at a park and wait until the golden hour to take some of the best pictures. When I get back home and take a good look at the photos, I realize what I’ve been missing out on. I never thought sunset could be so beautiful, with splashes of yellows and oranges across the evening sky. I’ve forgotten how wonderful it feels to have sand in my toes until I frolicked around the beach in my summer skin.

Last Saturday, June 30th, I got to go to a BBQ at Sunken Meadows Park in Long Island. Louka, Xiaoli, and I first met up with some of their friends in Queens then we drove to Sunken Meadows, with the trip taking about an hour.

I’ve never been in the company of so many Chinese before. I find it somewhat amusing that people I got introduced to where greeting me Ni Hao (although I think I don’t look Chinese at all with my being morena).

The beach serves as an escape from the drudgery of everyday life.

I hope that when I get older, I still find delight in the simple things that people ordinarily take for granted. I hope that I won’t be “too busy” and find myself stuck in the cruel rat race. When was the last time you’ve been to the beach or spent quality time with your family? I know I’m still young and haven’t gone through much in life but if there’s one thing I learned, it’s the journey that matters most. I hope you don’t lose sight of what’s important to you.

C’est la Vie!

4 thoughts on “Echoes from Long Island Sound

  1. I love the picture of Xiaoli in the water. She looks so carefree and pretty! Great photo chops, Annie! 😉

    “It’s the journey that matters the most.” — Yes! I BELIEVE! 😀

A penny for your thoughts

